North Carolina Traffic Laws
Traffic Ticket Information Guide

If you received a traffic ticket in a different state, visit www.USTrafficLaws.com.

North Carolina Traffic Laws

 

North Carolina Point System

 

In North Carolina, there are two point systems: DMV points, and insurance points. DMV points are assessed by the DMV to your driver's license. If you accumulate 12 or more points in a three year period your driver's license will be suspended. Insurance points, or SDIP points (Safe Driver Incentive Plan points), are points that the North Carolina Department of Insurance takes into account to determine how much automobile insurance companies can charge. The more insurance points that you have, the higher insurance premium that you will have to pay.

Look below to find a list of moving violations contained in Chapter 20 of the North Carolina General Statutes that carry points. You will be able to see the number of DMV points and insurance points that each offense carries. Contact an experienced North Carolina traffic ticket attorney to discuss ways to avoid or limit points on your driver's license.


 

Offense

DMV Points

Insurance Points

Manslaughter or Negligent Homicide

Suspended

12 Points

Pre-arranged Highway Racing

Suspended

12 Points

Hit and Run (injury/death)

Suspended

12 Points

DWI (.08 BAC or more)

Suspended

12 Points

Transporting Illegal Liquor for Sale

Suspended

12 Points

Highway Racing

Suspended

10 Points

Speeding to Elude Arrest

Suspended

10 Points

Driving While Revoked or Suspended

Suspended

8 Points

Aggressive Driving (Comm. Lic.)

6 Points

8 Points

Aggressive Driving (Class C License)

5 Points

8 Points

Reckless Driving

4 Points

4 Points

Hit and Run (property damage)

4 Points

4 Points

Passing a Stopped School Bus

5 Points

4 Points

Speeding (75 mph or greater when limit < 70)

Suspended

4 Points

Speeding (80 mph or greater when limit 70)

3 Points

4 Points

Driver Under 21 Driving after Consuming Alcohol/Drugs

Suspended

4 Points

At-Fault Accident (injury/death > $800, or property damage > $3,000)

Suspended

3 Points

Illegal Passing

4 Points

2 Points

Following Too Closely

4 Points

2 Points

Driving on Wrong Side of Road

4 Points

2 Points

Stop Sign/Stop Light Violation

3 Points

1 Point

Speeding Through a Safety Zone

3 Points

By Speed

Driving with no Operator’s License

3 Points

1 Point

Failure to Yield Right of Way

3 Points

1 Point

Failure to Stop for Siren

3 Points

1 Point

Driving with no Liability Insurance

3 Points

1 Point

At Fault Accident (property damage > $1,800, but < $3,000)

3 Points

2 Points

Speeding (>10 mph over limit when speed  limit is > 55, but < 76)

3 Points

2 Points

Speeding (less than 10mph over limit when speed limit is 55 or greater)

See Below

2 Points

Speeding when limit is 55 mph or greater

3 Points

By Speed

Speeding when limit is 55 mph or less

2 Points

By Speed

Speeding in School Zone

3 Points

By Speed

All other Moving Violations

2 Points

2 Points

Failure to Restrain Child in Restraint

2 Points

1 Point

At-Fault Accidents (injury or property damage < $1,800)

3 Points

1 Point

Speeding (10 mph or less over limit when speed limit is less than 55)

2 Points

1 Point

Littering from vehicle

1 Point

1 Point

Non-Moving Violations

0 Points

0 Points